{"id":"bermuda-rbi","name":"Bermuda Economic Investment Residential Certificate","type":"RBI","status":"operational","country":"Bermuda","country_code":"BM","url":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/immigration/bermuda-economic-investment-certificate","min_investment":{"amount":2500000,"currency":"USD","route":"Economic investment (BM$2.5m) → 5-yr residential certificate"},"qualification_basis":"investment","investment_routes":[{"name":"Real Estate (Residential or Commercial)","type":"real_estate","min":2500000,"currency":"USD","amount_local":"BM$2,500,000","local_currency":"USD","local_amount":2500000,"amount_usd":2500000},{"name":"Contribution to the Bermuda Sinking Fund","type":"government_fund","min":2500000,"currency":"USD","amount_local":"BM$2,500,000","local_currency":"USD","local_amount":2500000,"amount_usd":2500000},{"name":"Contribution to the Bermuda Trust Fund","type":"government_fund","min":2500000,"currency":"USD","amount_local":"BM$2,500,000","local_currency":"USD","local_amount":2500000,"amount_usd":2500000},{"name":"Donation to a Bermuda-Registered Charity","type":"charity_donation","min":2500000,"currency":"USD","amount_local":"BM$2,500,000","local_currency":"USD","local_amount":2500000,"amount_usd":2500000},{"name":"Equity Investment in an Existing Bermuda-Based Business","type":"business","min":2500000,"currency":"USD","amount_local":"BM$2,500,000","local_currency":"USD","local_amount":2500000,"amount_usd":2500000},{"name":"Launch a New Bermuda-Based Business","type":"business","min":2500000,"currency":"USD","amount_local":"BM$2,500,000","local_currency":"USD","local_amount":2500000,"amount_usd":2500000},{"name":"Other Social or Useful Venture Benefiting Bermuda","type":"approved_venture","min":2500000,"currency":"USD","amount_local":"BM$2,500,000","local_currency":"USD","local_amount":2500000,"amount_usd":2500000}],"family_pricing":{"structure":"Single qualifying investment of BM$2,500,000 covers the principal applicant and qualifying family members; no separate investment threshold per dependant.","principal_applicant":"Must make and maintain BM$2,500,000 qualifying investment for 5 years.","spouse_or_partner":"Granted a corresponding certificate to reside in Bermuda (no automatic right to work — must apply separately under standard work-permit policy).","dependent_children":"Dependent children granted corresponding certificates to reside (no automatic right to work). age limits: reported as 18 and under, or 18–25 if in full-time higher education. Note: official sources differ by one year — the EIRC policy (https://www.gov.bm/sites/default/files/2024-06/The-Economic-Investment-Residential-Certificate-Policy-June%202024.pdf) says '18 years or younger', while the Bermuda Immigration and Protection Act 1956 ss.27/30 and the Work Permit Policy use 'under eighteen' (https://www.bermudalaws.bm/Laws/Consolidated%20Law/1956/Bermuda%20Immigration%20and%20Protection%20Act%201956); not settled (checked 2026-10-13). (unverified)","application_fee_note":"Application fee is per principal application; confirm whether additional per-dependant fees apply. (unverified)"},"processing_time":"The Government of Bermuda does not publish a processing time, and applications are handled confidentially. In practice the pace depends largely on how quickly the qualifying investment is completed, particularly a property purchase.","visa_free_count":null,"passport_index_rank":null,"key_destinations":null,"travel_access":null,"minimum_stay":"Must reside in Bermuda for a minimum of 90 days in each calendar year for the first five years after issuance.","tax_note":"income tax: None. Bermuda imposes no personal income tax on employment, self-employment, investment or other personal income, for residents or non-residents. [Govt of Bermuda; PwC]; CGT: None. Bermuda has no capital gains tax. [Govt of Bermuda; PwC]; wealth tax: No wealth tax. estate/stamp duty on death may apply to Bermuda-situated assets. (unverified)","path_to_citizenship":"No. The Economic Investment Residential Certificate grants the right to reside in Bermuda only. It does not confer Bermudian status and does not lead to Bermudian or British citizenship or a passport through the programme.","highlights":["No income or capital-gains tax","5-year renewable residency; 90 days/year presence"],"atomic_answer":"Bermuda grants five-year renewable residency to non-Bermudians who invest and maintain BM$2.5m (US$2.5m) for five years across qualifying investments such as real estate, business or charity, with a 90-day-per-year presence requirement. No income or capital-gains tax. This is residency only, not Bermudian status or citizenship.","fees":{"due_diligence":null,"processing":null,"interview":null,"certificate":null,"application_main":null,"application_dependent":null,"notes":"Application process is described as confidential. Fees are administrative only and separate from the BM$2,500,000 qualifying investment.","other":{"residential_certificate_application_fee":"BM$2,755 (Government of Bermuda — https://www.gov.bm/all-immigration-fees, verified 2026-10-03; the June 2024 policy PDF's BM$2,625 is superseded).","currency_note":"BM$ pegged 1:1 to US$.","other_fees":"Real-estate route attracts standard Bermuda property purchase costs (e.g. stamp duty, licence fees for non-Bermudian buyers) separately. current rates. (unverified)","notes":"Application process is described as confidential. Fees are administrative only and separate from the BM$2,500,000 qualifying investment."}},"last_updated":"2026-06-04","data_freshness":{"verification_confidence":88,"last_verified":"2026-06-04","last_corroborated":"2026-10-22","fields_tracked":5,"stale_fields":3},"mirabello_index":null,"regulatory_status":{"fatf_list":null,"eu_tax_list":null,"us_sanctions":null,"oecd_crs_high_risk_scheme":false,"as_of":"2026-06","status":"not listed on FATF, EU tax, US OFAC, or OECD CRS-risk lists"},"processing_stages":null,"required_documents":null,"biometric_enrolment":null,"dependant_additions":null,"nationality_naturalisation":null,"region":null,"family":{"id":"bermuda-rbi","country_code":"BM","family_model":"included_at_application","relatives":{"spouse":{"eligible":true,"unmarried_partner":null,"same_sex":null,"min_age_inclusive":null,"conditions":"Policy extends to 'the spouse (or any legally recognized equivalent)'; law-firm summaries say 'spouse or partner'. Spouses/partners must have no convictions in or outside Bermuda and be of good character and conduct. Whether unmarried (non-registered) or same-sex partners qualify is not stated beyond 'legally recognised equivalent'."},"children":{"eligible":true,"max_age_inclusive":18,"age_rule_text":"Dependent = child '18 years or younger, or 18 to 25 if enrolled in higher education'; residence right ceases on completion of full-time tertiary education or on reaching 25, whichever is earlier; the Minister may extend in special circumstances.","age_measured_at":null,"adult_child_max_age_inclusive":24,"adult_child_conditions":"Enrolled in higher education (full-time tertiary); right ends on completion of studies or at age 25, whichever is earlier (so oldest completed age that still qualifies = 24); Minister may extend for special circumstances.","step_adopted":null,"disabled_child_any_age":null,"age_bands_for_fees":["no separate child fee listed"]},"parents":{"eligible":null,"conditions":"Not mentioned in the policy text as relayed."},"grandparents":{"eligible":null},"siblings":{"eligible":null},"other":{"eligible":null}},"timing":{"together_with_main_applicant":true,"add_later":null,"add_later_conditions":"Policy text as relayed refers only to spouse and dependants 'listed on the application'; later addition is not addressed.","add_later_deadline":null,"after_approval_births_marriages":null,"age_out_during_processing":"Not stated."},"costs":{"currency":"BMD","contribution_includes_family":"Single qualifying investment of BM$2,500,000 (held 5 years) covers principal, spouse and qualifying dependants; no per-dependant capital.","per_category":{"spouse":0,"child_under_18":0,"child_18_plus":0,"parent":null},"government_fees":[{"item":"Economic investment certificate / residential certificate application fee","amount":2755,"currency":"BMD","applies_to":"gov.bm lists the same BM$2,755 fee for the certificate and for 'other persons eligible ... and their spouses'; no separate child fee is listed"},{"item":"Confirmation of spouse's employment/residence rights (Bermudian spouse)","amount":190,"currency":"BMD","applies_to":"not an EIRC dependant fee - different route"}],"due_diligence_per_adult":null,"notes":"BM$ is pegged 1:1 to US$ (KB). Fee page does not say whether BM$2,755 is per certificate holder or covers dependants; read literally it lists the spouse within the same fee line. Policy requires 90 days in Bermuda per year for 5 years (Conyers summary of policy). The Bermuda Business Development Agency FAQ speaks of 'minor dependents', narrower than the policy's 18-25 education rule."},"dependants_status":{"residence_obligation":"Holder: BM$2.5m investment held 5 years and at least 90 days in Bermuda each year for 5 years (Conyers summary); dependants' own obligation not stated.","work_rights":"No automatic right to work; dependants must apply under the Bermuda Work Permit policy (BIPA).","independent_after":"Child's right ends at completion of tertiary study or age 25 (whichever earlier).","citizenship_path":"none stated for dependants","if_principal_divorces_or_dies":"Surviving/former spouse's or partner's right to continue may be revoked; they may apply within three months for the relevant certificate in their own right. Children's position not addressed."},"verification":"single-authority verified","confidence":{"authority":0.65,"freshness":0.7,"textual_clarity":0.65},"evidence":[{"field":"relatives.spouse / children age rule / work rights / death-divorce","basis":"Economic Investment Residential Certificate Policy June 2024 (read through search extract and Conyers summary; gov.bm PDF blocked automated download)","source_url":"https://www.gov.bm/sites/default/files/2024-06/The-Economic-Investment-Residential-Certificate-Policy-June%202024.pdf","source_tier":"B_official_guidance","verified_date":"2026-10-09"},{"field":"relatives.children / spouse / duration","basis":"Conyers briefing summarising the EIRC policy","source_url":"https://www.conyers.com/publications/view/bermudas-economic-investment-residential-certificate/","source_tier":"E_secondary","verified_date":"2026-10-09"},{"field":"costs.government_fees","basis":"Government of Bermuda all immigration fees page","source_url":"https://www.gov.bm/all-immigration-fees","source_tier":"A_official","verified_date":"2026-10-09"}],"conflicts":[{"field":"relatives.children.max_age","kb":"18 and under, or 18-25 if in full-time higher education (unverified)","official":"Policy: 18 or younger, or 18 to 25 if enrolled in higher education; ends at completion of studies or age 25","resolution":"Policy used; KB VERIFY resolved at the level of the search-extracted policy text."},{"field":"costs.government_fees (application fee)","kb":"BM$2,755","official":"gov.bm fee page BM$2,755; Conyers quotes older BM$2,625","resolution":"BM$2,755 used."},{"field":"relatives.children.max_age_inclusive","kb":"EIRC policy '18 years or younger' (max 18)","official":"Bermuda Immigration and Protection Act 1956 ss.27/30 and Work Permit Policy s.5: 'under eighteen' (max 17)","resolution":"B: different instruments; the EIRC policy governs Residential Certificate holders and is kept, but the one-year difference from the Act is unresolved."}],"gaps":["The official policy PDF could not be opened directly (gov.bm returned HTTP 405 to automated fetch); wording taken from a search-engine extract of the PDF plus Conyers - re-verify against the PDF","Age measurement date, add-later mechanism, births after grant: not stated","Parents/siblings eligibility not stated","Whether the BM$2,755 fee is per person or per application not stated","Due diligence / medical costs for dependants not stated"],"last_checked":"2026-10-13"},"provider":"Mirabello Consultancy","source":"Mirabello Consultancy","verified_by":"Mirabello Consultancy (IMC member, ACAMS-certified team)","book_a_consultation":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/contact-us-for-your-free-consultation","terms":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/ai","disclaimer":"Provided by Mirabello Consultancy Ltd. for general information only, indicative and subject to change without notice; not legal, financial, tax, or immigration advice, nor an offer or solicitation. Programmes are operated and governed solely by the respective sovereign governments. No warranty of accuracy or completeness; Mirabello accepts no liability for reliance on this information. © Mirabello Consultancy Ltd. This data and its selection, structure and provenance are Mirabello's proprietary compilation — permitted for interactive, attributed use only; systematic bulk extraction, scraping, or redistribution to rebuild a competing dataset is prohibited (acceptable-use terms: https://mcp.mirabelloconsultancy.com/v1/terms). Terms: https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/ai","data_updated":"2026-11-06T05:30:03.658Z","government_fees":"see schedule","tax":"income tax: None. Bermuda imposes no personal income tax on employment, self-employment, investment or other personal income, for residents or non-residents. [Govt of Bermuda; PwC]; CGT: None. Bermuda has no capital gains tax. [Govt of Bermuda; PwC]; wealth tax: No wealth tax. estate/stamp duty on death may apply to Bermuda-situated assets. (unverified)","claims_provenance":{"government_fees":{"source_url":"https://www.gov.bm/online-services/economic-investment-certificate-residential-certificate","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-06-04","confidence":84,"review_due_at":"2026-09-02"},"min_investment":{"source_url":"https://www.gov.bm/online-services/economic-investment-certificate-residential-certificate","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-06-04","confidence":84,"review_due_at":"2026-09-02"},"path_to_citizenship":{"source_url":"https://www.gov.bm/online-services/economic-investment-certificate-residential-certificate","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-06-04","confidence":92,"review_due_at":"2026-09-02"},"processing_time":{"source_url":"https://www.gov.bm/online-services/economic-investment-certificate-residential-certificate","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-06-04","confidence":84,"review_due_at":"2026-09-02"},"tax":{"source_url":"https://www.gov.bm/online-services/economic-investment-certificate-residential-certificate","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-06-04","confidence":92,"review_due_at":"2026-09-02"}}}