{"id":"fiji-assured-income","name":"Fiji Residence Permit on Assured Income","type":"RBI","status":"operational","country":"Fiji","country_code":"FJ","url":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/immigration/fiji-retirement-residence-permit","min_investment":{"amount":null,"currency":"FJD","route":"Age 45 or over, retired or living on a pension, assets or income outside Fiji, with no work in Fiji; the Ministry of Immigration issues six months first and the balance of up to three years on a remittance of FJD 100,000 and/or a property purchase (Immigration Regulations 2007 regs 48 to 50). Proof of means with a remittance or property condition, not a business investment"},"qualification_basis":"financial_means","investment_routes":null,"family_pricing":null,"processing_time":null,"processing_time_note":"No processing time is published for this permit (the Ministry's work-permit page says applicants may follow up after 30 working days, but that text is not stated for this category). Fees on the Ministry page: FJD 650.05 for a new or extension application by the primary applicant and FJD 185.00 per dependant, plus a 2% Mpaisa or 2.5% Visa or Mastercard surcharge for online payment. A new application needs a medical report under three months old stating fitness to reside in Fiji, a police report from each country of residence for 12 months or more, and documents translated into English and notarised; an extension asks for a local police report, a local bank statement in Fijian currency and a retired scheme statement. The legal spouse and children under 18 may be included; de facto partners and children aged 18 or over apply separately for a co-extensive permit (regulations 54 to 56). The holder may not take any employment, profession, religious vocation, research or study without the Permanent Secretary's written approval (regulation 49(b)). (unverified)","visa_free_count":null,"passport_index_rank":null,"key_destinations":null,"travel_access":null,"minimum_stay":null,"tax_note":"income tax: Resident progressive rates: NIL to FJD 30,000, 18% FJD 30,001-50,000, 20% to FJD 270,000, then 33% rising to 39% above FJD 1,000,000 (Income Tax Act 2015 (FRCS consolidation revised to 1 August 2025, frcs.org.fj, read 2026-10-11)).; CGT: 10% Capital Gains Tax on residents' gains wherever the asset is located (Income Tax Act 2015 s 67). Exempt: a resident individual's gain up to FJD 30,000 (s 67(1)(a), raised from FJD 16,000 from 1 August 2020; FRCS CGT page), first residential property or principal residence, and SPSE-listed shares.; tax residency: Residents are taxed on income from all sources within and outside Fiji (Income Tax Act 2015 s 14(3)(a)), with a foreign tax credit under s 60; non-residents on Fiji-source income. Resident if the individual resides in Fiji, or is domiciled in Fiji unless a permanent place of abode is kept abroad, or is present 183 days in any 12-month period (s 6). Dividends are exempt income on the statutory wording (Income Tax (Exempt Income) Regulations 2016 Schedule Part 5(1): any dividend received is exempt income; FRCS's exemptions page describes a narrower condition, dividends already taxed at corporate level). (unverified)","path_to_citizenship":"The five-of-ten-years naturalisation figure often quoted rests on a secondary source and was not read in the Citizenship of Fiji Act 2009. The Citizenship of Fiji (Amendment) Bill No. 8 of 2026 would change the test to eight of the preceding ten years lawfully present and, from 1 January 2035, require a permanent residence permit; it is a bill, in force only on a Gazette date, and its passage was not confirmed. (unverified)","highlights":["Permit of up to three years for people aged 45 or over living on a pension or assets outside Fiji; no business investment","Six months first, then the balance on FJD 100,000 remitted and/or property bought; residents are taxed on worldwide income"],"atomic_answer":"The Fiji Residence Permit on Assured Income is for non-citizens aged 45 or over who are retired or live on a pension, assets or a reliable income outside Fiji and who will not work there (Immigration Regulations 2007, regs 48 to 50). It lasts at most three years: the Ministry of Immigration issues six months first and the balance on receipt of a remittance of FJD 100,000 and/or a property purchase of that value, a condition that is administrative rather than statutory. Fiji taxes residents on worldwide income, and whether a foreign pension is exempt is unresolved.","fees":null,"last_updated":"2026-10-11","data_freshness":null,"mirabello_index":{"composite":62.2,"rank_overall":null,"rank_in_type":null,"scores":{"tax":55,"stability":65},"confidence":0.29},"regulatory_status":{"fatf_list":null,"eu_tax_list":null,"us_sanctions":null,"oecd_crs_high_risk_scheme":false,"as_of":"2026-06","status":"not listed on FATF, EU tax, US OFAC, or OECD CRS-risk lists"},"processing_stages":null,"required_documents":null,"biometric_enrolment":null,"dependant_additions":null,"nationality_naturalisation":null,"retirement":{"route_name":"Fiji Residence Permit on Assured Income (retirees and others aged 45 or over)","region":"Asia-Pacific","tags":["retirement","passive-income"],"income_requirement":{"amount":null,"currency":"FJD","period":"month","basis":"either","per_dependant":null,"no_fixed_threshold":true,"note":"No fixed amount: neither regulation 48 nor the Ministry page publishes a monthly income or asset figure. Regulation 48(a) asks for assets outside Fiji sufficient not to become a charge on public funds, and sufficiency is at the discretion of the Permanent Secretary. A regular pension or retirement income from overseas, or assets or a reliable source of income outside Fiji, qualify; a new application asks for the latest offshore bank statement and a retired scheme statement (proof of pension). No per-dependant income figure is published; the extra annual deposits of FJD 30,000 to FJD 40,000 for families quoted by some sources appear only in a legacy, undated Ministry of Foreign Affairs policy text and not on the current Ministry page. (unverified)"},"net_worth_or_deposit_option":{"amount":100000,"currency":"FJD","kind":"property_purchase","required":true,"note":"Administrative condition, not a statutory sum (regulation 48 prescribes none): the Ministry page says a six-month permit is issued first and the balance of 2.5 years on receipt of a remittance of FJD 100,000 and/or the purchase of property worth FJD 100,000 or more. (unverified)","kind_original":"remittance_or_property_purchase"},"eligibility":{"min_age":45,"rule":"all"},"stay_requirement":{"days_per_year":null,"max_continuous_absence_days":null,"stated_by_official_source":false,"rule":null,"note":"No minimum-stay or maximum-absence rule appears in regulations 48 to 50, the residence terms and conditions of September 2025 or the permit page. That is not proof that none exists; confirm with the Ministry before relying on it. Permanent residence needs five years of physical and lawful residence (regulation 51)."},"foreign_income_tax":{"treatment":"worldwide","label":"Worldwide: once you are tax-resident, your foreign pension and investment income ARE taxed here.","note":"Worldwide for residents (Income Tax Act 2015 s 14(3)(a)), with a foreign tax credit under s 60. A person is resident if they reside in Fiji, are domiciled in Fiji without a permanent place of abode abroad, or are present 183 days in any 12 months (s 6); a retiree living in Fiji is resident whatever the day count. Rates: nil to FJD 30,000, 18% to FJD 50,000, 20% to FJD 270,000, then 33% rising to 39% above FJD 1,000,000; capital gains 10% (a resident individual's gain up to FJD 30,000 and a principal residence are exempt). Interest and rent are taxed at resident rates. No tax regime is tied to this permit. The 2026-27 budget changes from 1 August 2026 were not read. (unverified)","source":"https://frcs.org.fj/files/2026/06/INCOME-TAX-ACT-2015-Revised-to-1-August-2025.pdf","tax_residence_caveat":"Tax follows tax residence, not the permit: the treatment applies once you are tax-resident there. Information, not tax advice."},"path_to_pr":"Permit of up to three years (regulation 50); a permanent residence permit needs five years of physical and lawful residence in Fiji (regulation 51).","path_to_citizenship":"The five-of-ten-years naturalisation figure often quoted rests on a secondary source and was not read in the Citizenship of Fiji Act 2009. The Citizenship of Fiji (Amendment) Bill No. 8 of 2026 would change the test to eight of the preceding ten years lawfully present and, from 1 January 2035, require a permanent residence permit; it is a bill, in force only on a Gazette date, and its passage was not confirmed. (unverified)","processing_note":"No processing time is published for this permit (the Ministry's work-permit page says applicants may follow up after 30 working days, but that text is not stated for this category). Fees on the Ministry page: FJD 650.05 for a new or extension application by the primary applicant and FJD 185.00 per dependant, plus a 2% Mpaisa or 2.5% Visa or Mastercard surcharge for online payment. A new application needs a medical report under three months old stating fitness to reside in Fiji, a police report from each country of residence for 12 months or more, and documents translated into English and notarised; an extension asks for a local police report, a local bank statement in Fijian currency and a retired scheme statement. The legal spouse and children under 18 may be included; de facto partners and children aged 18 or over apply separately for a co-extensive permit (regulations 54 to 56). The holder may not take any employment, profession, religious vocation, research or study without the Permanent Secretary's written approval (regulation 49(b)). (unverified)","official_source":"https://www.immigration.gov.fj/residence-on-assured-income-permit-application","legal_basis":"Immigration Regulations 2007 (LN 5 of 2008), made under the Immigration Act 2003: reg 48 (criteria), reg 49 (conditions), reg 50 (duration, maximum 3 years), regs 51 and 53 (permanent residence permit) and regs 54 to 56 (co-extensive permits for dependants); regs 48 and 49 as amended by the Immigration (Amendment) Decree 2011 (Decree 30 of 2011), effective 11 July 2011. The age of 45, the FJD 100,000 condition and the fees are Ministry of Immigration practice published on the permit page and in the residence terms and conditions of September 2025, not statute. The regulation text was read from a UNHCR/ecoi.net mirror of the consolidated text because laws.gov.fj could not be fetched.","as_of":"2026-10-11"},"golden_retirement":{"standard":"Mirabello Golden Retirement Index","applies_to":"Fiji Residence Permit on Assured Income (retirees and others aged 45 or over)","tier":"partial","tier_label":"Partial: meets most of the standard, with one gap","score":54.9,"confidence_grade":"B","renewal_category":"1 renewal, then permanent residence","renewals_before_pr":1,"pillars":{"tax":16.9,"presence":8,"financial":11,"durability":5,"processing":2,"healthcare":3,"family_work_mobility":3,"pr_citizenship":6},"reasons":[],"as_of":"2026-10-11","methodology_version":"1.1.0-2026-10-11"},"record_kind":"retirement_route","region":null,"provider":"Mirabello Consultancy","source":"Mirabello Consultancy","verified_by":"Mirabello Consultancy (IMC member, ACAMS certified)","book_a_consultation":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/contact-us-for-your-free-consultation","terms":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/ai","disclaimer":"Provided by Mirabello Consultancy Ltd. for general information only, indicative and subject to change without notice; not legal, financial, tax, or immigration advice, nor an offer or solicitation. Programmes are operated and governed solely by the respective sovereign governments. No warranty of accuracy or completeness; Mirabello accepts no liability for reliance on this information. © Mirabello Consultancy Ltd. This data and its selection, structure and provenance are Mirabello's proprietary compilation — permitted for interactive, attributed use only; systematic bulk extraction, scraping, or redistribution to rebuild a competing dataset is prohibited (acceptable-use terms: https://mcp.mirabelloconsultancy.com/v1/terms). Terms: https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/ai","data_updated":"2026-10-12T19:35:18.892Z"}