{"id":"kenya-rbi","name":"Kenya Class G Investor Permit","type":"RBI","status":"operational","country":"Kenya","country_code":"KE","url":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/immigration/kenya-class-g-investor-permit","min_investment":{"amount":100000,"currency":"USD","route":"Business capital (Class G investor permit)"},"qualification_basis":"investment","investment_routes":[{"name":"Class G — Specific Trade, Business or Consultancy (Investor Permit)","type":"Renewable investor work/residence permit","min":100000,"currency":"USD","amount_usd":100000}],"family_pricing":{"structure":"Each foreign family member residing in Kenya generally requires their own status document. The principal investor holds the Class G permit; the spouse and dependent children apply for Dependant's Passes linked to the principal.","dependants_pass":"Spouse and dependent children apply for a Dependant's Pass tied to the Class G holder. The Dependant's Pass fee is not stated on the Directorate's Class G page, so it is confirmed against the current DIS schedule for each family before filing. Official sources conflict on the amount: the DIS Dependant's Pass page (https://immigration.go.ke/dependants-pass/) lists KES 10,000 issuance for dependants of permit and permanent-residence holders, while the Ninth Schedule of the Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Regulations 2012 as consolidated to 30 May 2025 (https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/act/ln/2012/64/eng@2025-05-30) shows KES 5,000; no figure is stated as settled (checked 2026-10-13).","notes":"No family package price: Kenya is not a single-fee investment-migration product. Family members are admitted as dependants of the permit holder."},"processing_time":"Case by case: timelines depend on how complete the corporate and capital file is when lodged and on the Directorate of Immigration Services' workload; the permit is then renewed on a recurring cycle.","visa_free_count":null,"passport_index_rank":null,"key_destinations":null,"travel_access":null,"minimum_stay":"No day count is published for the Class G permit itself; it is renewed on evidence that the business is trading and tax compliant. Permanent residence requires three years of continuous residence in Kenya immediately before applying (section 37 of the Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Act, 2011), and registration as a citizen requires ordinary residence for seven years, including the final twelve months in Kenya (section 13).","tax_note":"CGT: Capital gains tax 15% of the net gain, a final tax (Kenya Revenue Authority capital gains tax page).; wealth tax: No wealth tax; no estate/inheritance tax.","path_to_citizenship":"Not by investment. Under section 13 of the Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Act, 2011, an adult who has been lawfully and ordinarily resident in Kenya for at least seven years, including the final twelve months, may apply to be registered as a citizen, subject to Kiswahili or a local dialect, adequate knowledge of Kenya, an intention to reside, a substantive contribution to national development, no conviction carrying a sentence of three years or more, and not being an undischarged bankrupt. The decision is at the Cabinet Secretary's discretion.","highlights":["USD 100,000 minimum capital in an operating Kenyan business","Renewable permit; permanent residence and citizenship only after seven years' residence"],"atomic_answer":"Kenya’s Class G investor permit gives renewable work and residence rights to foreigners who invest at least USD 100,000 in an operating Kenyan business. It is not a golden visa: permanent residence and citizenship come only through lawful residence of at least seven years.","fees":{"due_diligence":null,"processing":null,"interview":null,"certificate":null,"application_main":null,"application_dependent":null,"notes":"All figures in Kenyan Shillings (KES). Fee schedule reflects the 1 April 2024 immigration fee revision. Confirm against the live DIS / eCitizen fee schedule before quoting to a client.","other":{"notes":"All figures in Kenyan Shillings (KES). Fee schedule reflects the 1 April 2024 immigration fee revision. Confirm against the live DIS / eCitizen fee schedule before quoting to a client."}},"last_updated":"2026-10-11","data_freshness":{"verification_confidence":67,"last_verified":"2026-09-26","last_corroborated":"2026-10-01","fields_tracked":5,"stale_fields":0,"fields_with_homepage_only_source":5},"mirabello_index":null,"regulatory_status":{"fatf_list":"grey","eu_tax_list":null,"us_sanctions":null,"oecd_crs_high_risk_scheme":false,"as_of":"2026-06","note":"Factual status as published by the FATF and the EU Council. Inclusion reflects AML/CFT or tax-governance work programmes, changes regularly (several reputable jurisdictions have been listed and delisted), and its practical impact varies by use-case. Always linked to the official source.","sources":["https://www.fatf-gafi.org/en/publications/High-risk-and-other-monitored-jurisdictions/"]},"processing_stages":["1. Incorporate or acquire shares in a Kenyan company and obtain KRA PIN","2. Inject / evidence the capital (offshore transfer proof, bank verification)","3. Prepare corporate and personal documents (Forms 25 & 27, CR12, MEMARTS, etc.)","4. Submit Class G application online via FNS/eCitizen and pay KES 20,000 processing fee","5. DIS review and security vetting","6. Approval, then pay annual issuance fee (KES 250,000/yr) to collect the permit","7. Register and obtain Alien/Foreigner ID; dependants apply for Dependant's Passes"],"required_documents":null,"biometric_enrolment":null,"dependant_additions":null,"nationality_naturalisation":null,"region":null,"family":{"id":"kenya-rbi","country_code":"KE","family_model":"add_on_after_approval","relatives":{"spouse":{"eligible":true,"unmarried_partner":null,"same_sex":null,"min_age_inclusive":null,"conditions":"Spouse of a permit holder may apply for a Dependant's Pass (Form 28). Requires proof of relationship, proof of sufficient assured income of the principal, and a sworn affidavit that the dependant cannot support themselves."},"children":{"eligible":true,"max_age_inclusive":20,"age_rule_text":"A child's dependant's pass 'shall be deemed to have expired' when the dependant 'attains the age of twenty one years' (Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Regulations 2012 reg 27(g)).","age_measured_at":null,"adult_child_max_age_inclusive":null,"adult_child_conditions":"Reg 26(2)(b) also covers a person who 'by reason of age, disability or any incapacity' cannot maintain himself or otherwise relies on the applicant, so a disabled adult child may qualify. All dependants must depend on the applicant, who must have sufficient income (reg 26(2)(a),(c)).","step_adopted":null,"disabled_child_any_age":true,"age_bands_for_fees":[]},"parents":{"eligible":null,"dependency_required":true,"conditions":"Not named; reg 26(2)(b) allows a dependant's pass for any person who by reason of age, disability or incapacity cannot maintain himself or relies on the applicant, so a dependent parent may qualify at the officer's discretion."},"grandparents":{"eligible":null},"siblings":{"eligible":null},"other":{"eligible":null}},"timing":{"together_with_main_applicant":null,"add_later":true,"add_later_conditions":"Separate Dependant's Pass application (Form 28) requiring a copy of the principal's work permit valid for at least six more months - so it follows grant of the Class G permit. No deadline stated.","add_later_deadline":null,"after_approval_births_marriages":null,"age_out_during_processing":null},"costs":{"currency":"KES","contribution_includes_family":"No family package: each dependant needs a pass; no capital uplift.","per_category":{"spouse":10000,"child_under_18":10000,"child_18_plus":null,"parent":null},"government_fees":[{"item":"Dependant's Pass issuance - spouse and children of work-permit and permanent-resident holders","amount":10000,"currency":"KES","applies_to":"per pass (official page lists 'Ksh 10,000'; per-dependant vs per-family and annual vs one-off not stated)"},{"item":"Dependant's Pass issuance - spouse and children of a Kenyan citizen","amount":20000,"currency":"KES","applies_to":"not applicable to investor families - for reference"},{"item":"Processing fee (reported by Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr, 1 Mar 2024 schedule)","amount":5000,"currency":"KES","applies_to":"special/dependant pass - secondary report, not shown on the official page"}],"due_diligence_per_adult":null,"notes":"EAC nationals pay nothing. Re-entry pass is separately payable (secondary source: KES 5,000). Fee schedule per KB reflects the 1 April 2024 revision; confirm against live DIS schedule."},"dependants_status":{"residence_obligation":null,"work_rights":null,"independent_after":null,"citizenship_path":"none","if_principal_divorces_or_dies":null},"verification":"single-authority verified","confidence":{"authority":0.7,"freshness":0.7,"textual_clarity":0.7},"evidence":[{"field":"relatives / requirements / fees","basis":"Kenya Directorate of Immigration Services - Dependant's Pass page","source_url":"https://immigration.go.ke/dependants-pass/","source_tier":"B_official_guidance","verified_date":"2026-10-09"},{"field":"relatives.children; relatives.parents","basis":"Kenya Citizenship and Immigration Regulations 2012 (consolidated to 30 May 2025) regs 26(2), 27(g)","source_url":"https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/act/ln/2012/64/eng@2025-05-30","source_tier":"A_primary_legislation","verified_date":"2026-10-13"}],"conflicts":[{"field":"costs.government_fees (processing fee)","kb":"Dependant's Pass fee not stated on Class G page","official":"Official page lists KSh 10,000 only; CDH says an extra KES 5,000 processing fee","resolution":"Official figure used; extra fee recorded as secondary."},{"field":"relatives.children","kb":"Record: 'No age limit stated on the official page'","official":"Reg 27(g): a child's dependant's pass expires at 21","resolution":"Statute used: max_age_inclusive 20 (same as kenya-class-k)."}],"gaps":["Parents: discretionary under reg 26(2)(b), practice not confirmed","Validity period and whether tied to principal's permit: not stated on page","Whether KES 10,000 is per person and annual"],"last_checked":"2026-10-13"},"provider":"Mirabello Consultancy","source":"Mirabello Consultancy","verified_by":"Mirabello Consultancy (IMC member, ACAMS-certified team)","book_a_consultation":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/contact-us-for-your-free-consultation","terms":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/ai","disclaimer":"Provided by Mirabello Consultancy Ltd. for general information only, indicative and subject to change without notice; not legal, financial, tax, or immigration advice, nor an offer or solicitation. Programmes are operated and governed solely by the respective sovereign governments. No warranty of accuracy or completeness; Mirabello accepts no liability for reliance on this information. © Mirabello Consultancy Ltd. This data and its selection, structure and provenance are Mirabello's proprietary compilation — permitted for interactive, attributed use only; systematic bulk extraction, scraping, or redistribution to rebuild a competing dataset is prohibited (acceptable-use terms: https://mcp.mirabelloconsultancy.com/v1/terms). Terms: https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/ai","data_updated":"2026-11-06T05:30:03.658Z","government_fees":"see schedule","tax":"CGT: Capital gains tax 15% of the net gain, a final tax (Kenya Revenue Authority capital gains tax page).; wealth tax: No wealth tax; no estate/inheritance tax.","claims_provenance":{"government_fees":{"source_url":"https://immigration.go.ke","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-26","confidence":65,"review_due_at":"2026-12-25"},"min_investment":{"source_url":"https://immigration.go.ke","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-26","confidence":65,"review_due_at":"2026-12-25"},"path_to_citizenship":{"source_url":"https://immigration.go.ke","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-26","confidence":70,"review_due_at":"2026-12-25"},"processing_time":{"source_url":"https://immigration.go.ke","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-26","confidence":65,"review_due_at":"2026-12-25"},"tax":{"source_url":"https://immigration.go.ke","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-26","confidence":70,"review_due_at":"2026-12-25"}}}