{"id":"new-zealand-rbi","name":"New Zealand Active Investor Plus","type":"RBI","status":"operational","country":"New Zealand","country_code":"NZ","url":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/immigration/new-zealand-active-investor-plus","min_investment":{"amount":5000000,"currency":"NZD","route":"Active investment (Growth category)"},"qualification_basis":"investment","investment_routes":[{"name":"Growth Category","type":"active_investment","min":3000000,"currency":"USD","amount_local":"NZD 5,000,000","local_currency":"NZD","local_amount":5000000,"amount_usd":3000000},{"name":"Balanced Category","type":"mixed_investment","min":6000000,"currency":"USD","amount_local":"NZD 10,000,000","local_currency":"NZD","local_amount":10000000,"amount_usd":6000000}],"family_pricing":{"structure":"Single government application fee covers the principal applicant and included family members; investment threshold is per application (not per person).","principal_applicant_fee_nzd":"From NZD 27,470 (application charge + Immigration Levy)","included_family_members":"Partner and dependent children aged 24 and under","additional_dependent_cost":"Included within the single application fee; confirm any per-dependent charge on the official INZ fees schedule. (unverified)","notes":"Partner must demonstrate 12 months living together; dependent children aged 21–24 must evidence financial dependency. Investment minimum (NZD 5m / 10m) is unchanged regardless of family size.","investment_covers_family":true,"single_applicant":5000000,"family_up_to_4":5000000,"currency":"NZD","model":"single-investment-covers-family","source_url":"https://www.immigration.govt.nz/visas/active-investor-plus-visa/","verified_date":"2026-09-18"},"processing_time":"4 months to approval in principle (80% of applications)","visa_free_count":null,"passport_index_rank":null,"key_destinations":null,"travel_access":"New Zealand residence only, with no visa-free travel to third countries and no regional free-movement rights. Trans-Tasman rights in Australia (Special Category visa, subclass 444) attach to New Zealand CITIZENSHIP, not to residence, and are available only after naturalisation.","minimum_stay":"Growth: at least 21 days in New Zealand over the 3-year period. Balanced: at least 105 days over the 5-year period, reducible by 14 days per additional NZD 1m invested in Growth-type assets (max 42-day reduction).","tax_note":"income tax: Progressive personal income tax up to 39% (top marginal rate). confirm current brackets.; CGT: New Zealand has no comprehensive general capital gains tax (though specific regimes such as the bright-line property test and FIF rules can apply).; wealth tax: No wealth tax and no inheritance/estate tax in New Zealand.; tax residency: A person becomes a New Zealand tax resident under the 183-day rule (more than 183 days present in any 12-month period) or by establishing a permanent place of abode in New Zealand (IRD). Holding an AIP visa does not, by itself, create tax residency. (unverified)","path_to_citizenship":"Citizenship by grant is a separate later application: must hold residence/permanent residence and have been present in New Zealand at least 1,350 days over the 5 years before applying, including at least 240 days in each of those 5 years, be of good character, and intend to continue living in NZ. Note this 5-year/1,350-day physical-presence test is far stricter than the AIP visa's own minimal presence condition.","highlights":["Relaunched Apr 2025: Growth NZD 5m / 3 yrs, Balanced NZD 10m / 5 yrs","Very low presence (21 days/3 yrs Growth); PR pathway; no English test"],"atomic_answer":"New Zealand’s Active Investor Plus visa (relaunched April 2025) grants residency for investing NZD 5m over three years (Growth) or NZD 10m over five years (Balanced). Minimal stay, no English test, a fast PR pathway, and a transitional foreign-income tax exemption.","fees":{"due_diligence":null,"processing":null,"interview":null,"certificate":null,"application_main":null,"application_dependent":null,"notes":null,"other":{"total_application_cost_nzd":"From NZD 27,470 (INZ — 'From NZD 27470')","breakdown_verify":"Active Investor Plus Category: application charge NZD 12,070 (Band A New Zealand and Band C Rest of World; Band B Pacific NZD 6,190) + Immigration Levy NZD 15,400 = NZD 27,470 total (Band A). Source: INZ 'Table of changes to fee and levy rates', new rates from 1 October 2024, https://www.immigration.govt.nz/assets/inz/documents/media/immigration-fee-and-levy-table-rates-from-1-october-2024.pdf, verified 2026-10-13. INZ notes the table is a general guide and the Fee Finder gives the amount payable; whether each family member is charged separately is not stated.","currency":"NZD","other_costs":"Plus professional/legal, fund-management and investment-administration fees, and medical/police certificate costs (not government fees).","source":"https://www.immigration.govt.nz/visas/active-investor-plus-visa/"}},"last_updated":"2026-09-18","data_freshness":{"verification_confidence":92,"last_verified":"2026-09-18","last_corroborated":"2026-09-13","fields_tracked":7,"stale_fields":0},"mirabello_index":{"composite":65,"rank_overall":57,"rank_in_type":44,"scores":{"cost":39,"speed":88,"mobility":50,"path":84,"tax":55,"family":100,"stability":69},"confidence":1},"regulatory_status":{"fatf_list":null,"eu_tax_list":null,"us_sanctions":null,"oecd_crs_high_risk_scheme":false,"as_of":"2026-06","status":"not listed on FATF, EU tax, US OFAC, or OECD CRS-risk lists"},"processing_stages":["Submit Active Investor Plus visa application to INZ with source-of-funds and supporting evidence","Receive approval in principle","Transfer nominated funds to New Zealand and invest in acceptable investments (Invest New Zealand/NZTE assesses acceptability)","Resident Visa with investment conditions granted","Maintain investment for 36 months (Growth) or 60 months (Balanced); complete 24-month and end-of-period questionnaires; meet minimum presence","Apply for Permanent Resident Visa once conditions are met"],"required_documents":null,"biometric_enrolment":null,"dependant_additions":null,"nationality_naturalisation":null,"region":null,"family":{"id":"new-zealand-rbi","country_code":"NZ","family_model":"both","relatives":{"spouse":{"eligible":true,"unmarried_partner":true,"same_sex":null,"min_age_inclusive":null,"conditions":"Partner in a genuine and stable relationship, living together for at least 12 months; proof of relationship timeline required. A partner or child with (or who has applied for) a relationship-based temporary visa must be included. Partners aged 18+ sign the INZ 1242 declaration. Same-sex partners: not stated on the pages read."},"children":{"eligible":true,"max_age_inclusive":24,"age_rule_text":"Dependent children 'aged 24 and younger'; children aged 21 to 24 must show they still rely on the applicant for financial support.","age_measured_at":null,"adult_child_max_age_inclusive":24,"adult_child_conditions":"21-24: financially dependent on the principal; evidence of relationship (birth certificate, custody documents). Children under 16 with separated parents need evidence of the right to remove them.","step_adopted":"Custody/adoption documents where applicable; not otherwise addressed.","disabled_child_any_age":null,"age_bands_for_fees":["standalone dependent child resident visa row in INZ table"]},"parents":{"eligible":false,"conditions":"Only partner and dependent children are named for inclusion."},"grandparents":{"eligible":false},"siblings":{"eligible":false},"other":{"eligible":false}},"timing":{"together_with_main_applicant":true,"add_later":true,"add_later_conditions":"After Approval in Principle the principal can support a resident visa for additional dependent children not in the original application (e.g. newborns) via a Dependent Child Resident Visa. Included family must travel to New Zealand within 12 months of resident visa grant or reapply.","add_later_deadline":"Family included in the resident visa must come to NZ within 12 months of grant.","after_approval_births_marriages":"Newborns can obtain a Dependent Child Resident Visa after approval in principle; for permanent residence, children born after the original application can be included if supported on a Dependent Child Resident Visa and held for at least 2 years.","age_out_during_processing":"Not stated on the page; age basis (lodgement date or decision date) not specified."},"costs":{"currency":"NZD","contribution_includes_family":"Investment threshold (NZD 5m / 10m per KB) is per application, unchanged by family size.","per_category":{"spouse":null,"child_under_18":null,"child_18_plus":null,"parent":null},"government_fees":[{"item":"Active Investor Plus Category - application charge (Band A / Rest of World)","amount":12070,"currency":"NZD","applies_to":"application (INZ fee table from 1 Oct 2024)"},{"item":"Active Investor Plus Category - application charge (Pacific, Band B)","amount":6190,"currency":"NZD","applies_to":"application"},{"item":"Immigration Levy (Active Investor Plus)","amount":15400,"currency":"NZD","applies_to":"application"},{"item":"Total, Band A","amount":27470,"currency":"NZD","applies_to":"INZ page 'From NZD 27470'; per-applicant vs per-family not stated"},{"item":"Dependent Child resident visa (standalone category row)","amount":3230,"currency":"NZD","applies_to":"1,830 application charge + 1,400 levy; relevance to AIP newborns not confirmed"}],"due_diligence_per_adult":null,"notes":"The INZ visa page and the October 2024 fee table do not say whether partners and children included in an Active Investor Plus application pay extra. KB reported split matches the fee table (12,070 + 15,400). Fee table pre-dates the 1 April 2025 category changes; use INZ Fee Finder."},"dependants_status":{"residence_obligation":"Partner who wants to come to NZ before the visa needs their own visitor visa after approval in principle.","work_rights":null,"independent_after":null,"citizenship_path":"same clock as principal (NZ citizenship rules not read here)","if_principal_divorces_or_dies":null},"verification":"single-authority verified","confidence":{"authority":0.85,"freshness":0.75,"textual_clarity":0.8},"evidence":[{"field":"relatives / timing","basis":"INZ Active Investor Plus Visa page (partner 12 months, children aged 24 and younger, newborns, 12-month travel rule)","source_url":"https://www.immigration.govt.nz/visas/active-investor-plus-visa","source_tier":"B_official_guidance","verified_date":"2026-10-09"},{"field":"costs.government_fees","basis":"INZ table of changes to fee and levy rates from 1 October 2024","source_url":"https://www.immigration.govt.nz/assets/inz/documents/media/immigration-fee-and-levy-table-rates-from-1-october-2024.pdf","source_tier":"B_official_guidance","verified_date":"2026-10-09"},{"field":"family documents on application form","basis":"INZ Active Investor Plus application form page","source_url":"https://www.immigration.govt.nz/formshelp/active-investor-plus-form","source_tier":"B_official_guidance","verified_date":"2026-10-09"}],"conflicts":[{"field":"costs.government_fees","kb":"split NZD 12,070 + 15,400; Pacific reduced charge ~6,190 (unverified)","official":"INZ Oct 2024 fee table: AIP charge 12,070 (Pacific 6,190) + levy 15,400 = 27,470","resolution":"Confirmed; per-person application unresolved."}],"gaps":["Whether fee/levy are per applicant or cover all included family members","Age measurement date, age-out rule","Same-sex partner treatment, unmarried partner detail (12-month cohabitation implied)","Current Fee Finder values after 1 Oct 2025"],"last_checked":"2026-10-09"},"provider":"Mirabello Consultancy","source":"Mirabello Consultancy","verified_by":"Mirabello Consultancy (IMC member, ACAMS-certified team)","book_a_consultation":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/contact-us-for-your-free-consultation","terms":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/ai","disclaimer":"Provided by Mirabello Consultancy Ltd. for general information only, indicative and subject to change without notice; not legal, financial, tax, or immigration advice, nor an offer or solicitation. Programmes are operated and governed solely by the respective sovereign governments. No warranty of accuracy or completeness; Mirabello accepts no liability for reliance on this information. © Mirabello Consultancy Ltd. This data and its selection, structure and provenance are Mirabello's proprietary compilation — permitted for interactive, attributed use only; systematic bulk extraction, scraping, or redistribution to rebuild a competing dataset is prohibited (acceptable-use terms: https://mcp.mirabelloconsultancy.com/v1/terms). Terms: https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/ai","data_updated":"2026-11-02T22:21:24.524Z","government_fees":"see schedule","tax":"income tax: Progressive personal income tax up to 39% (top marginal rate). confirm current brackets.; CGT: New Zealand has no comprehensive general capital gains tax (though specific regimes such as the bright-line property test and FIF rules can apply).; wealth tax: No wealth tax and no inheritance/estate tax in New Zealand.; tax residency: A person becomes a New Zealand tax resident under the 183-day rule (more than 183 days present in any 12-month period) or by establishing a permanent place of abode in New Zealand (IRD). Holding an AIP visa does not, by itself, create tax residency. (unverified)","claims_provenance":{"family_pricing":{"source_url":"https://www.immigration.govt.nz/visas/active-investor-plus-visa/","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-18","confidence":92,"review_due_at":"2026-12-17"},"government_fees":{"source_url":"https://www.immigration.govt.nz/visas/active-investor-plus-visa/","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-18","confidence":92,"review_due_at":"2026-12-17"},"min_investment":{"source_url":"https://www.immigration.govt.nz/visas/active-investor-plus-visa/","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-18","confidence":92,"review_due_at":"2026-12-17"},"path_to_citizenship":{"source_url":"https://www.immigration.govt.nz/visas/active-investor-plus-visa/","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-18","confidence":92,"review_due_at":"2026-12-17"},"processing_time":{"source_url":"https://www.immigration.govt.nz/visas/active-investor-plus-visa/","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-18","confidence":92,"review_due_at":"2026-12-17"},"tax":{"source_url":"https://www.immigration.govt.nz/visas/active-investor-plus-visa/","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-18","confidence":92,"review_due_at":"2026-12-17"},"travel_access":{"source_url":"https://www.immigration.govt.nz/visas/active-investor-plus-visa/","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-18","confidence":92,"review_due_at":"2026-12-17"}}}