{"id":"portugal-gv","name":"Portugal Golden Visa","type":"RBI","status":"operational","country":"Portugal","country_code":"PT","url":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/immigration/portugal-golden-residence-permit","min_investment":{"amount":250000,"currency":"EUR","route":"Arts and cultural-heritage support (fund, company/job creation and scientific research routes from EUR 500,000)"},"qualification_basis":"investment","investment_routes":[{"name":"Qualifying Investment Fund","type":"fund","min":500000,"currency":"EUR"},{"name":"Arts & Cultural Heritage","type":"cultural","min":250000,"currency":"EUR"},{"name":"Company Formation or Capital Increase (5 jobs)","type":"business","min":500000,"currency":"EUR"},{"name":"Scientific Research","type":"research","min":500000,"currency":"EUR"},{"name":"Job Creation (at least 10 jobs)","type":"business","min":null},{"name":"Real Estate (ELIMINATED)","type":"real_estate","min":null}],"family_pricing":{"investment_covers_family":true,"single_applicant":250000,"family_up_to_4":250000,"model":"single-investment-covers-family","included_members":"spouse; children under 18; unmarried dependent children aged 18 to 25 who are studying; dependent first-degree ascendants of the applicant or spouse; minor siblings under the applicant's guardianship (AIMA)","per_person_govt_fee_eur":9261.7,"govt_fee_breakdown_eur":"EUR 842.80 application analysis + EUR 8,418.90 residence-permit grant, PER PERSON (incl. each family member); renewal EUR 4,210.30 per person. Digital-channel rates 25% lower (EUR 632.10 / 6,314.20 / 3,157.80).","notes":"Investment (EUR 250,000 cultural up to EUR 500,000 fund) covers the whole family and does not increase with family size. Government fees are PER PERSON under AIMA's fee table.","source_url":"https://aima.gov.pt/media/pages/documents/dc677d0005-1772305205/tabela-de-taxas-e-demais-encargos-a-cobrar-pelos-procedimentos-administrativos.pdf","verified_date":"2026-09-28"},"processing_time":"12-18 months in practice (AIMA publishes no processing time); longer when AIMA's caseload is heavy","processing_time_basis":"practice","processing_time_note":"No official processing time is published by the government; this is Mirabello practice experience.","visa_free_count":184,"passport_index_rank":null,"key_destinations":null,"travel_access":"Schengen Area (visa-free short stays, up to 90 days in any 180, across the 29 Schengen countries)","minimum_stay":"7 days in year 1; 14 days per subsequent 2-year period (total ~35 days over 5 years)","tax_note":"income tax: Progressive rates: 12.5%–48% (2026 brackets, Lei 73-A/2025; Portal das Finanças CIRS art. 68) on Portuguese-sourced income. 28% flat rate on investment income (dividends, capital gains).; CGT: 28% flat rate on capital gains from securities. Real estate gains taxed at 50% of the gain at progressive rates (effective rate ~14–24%).; wealth tax: AIMI (Adicional ao IMI) applies to property portfolios above €600,000: 0.7% on €600K–€1M, 1% above €1M. Only relevant if investor holds Portuguese property.; inheritance tax: No inheritance tax in Portugal. Stamp duty of 10% on Portuguese assets for non-direct-line heirs.","path_to_citizenship":"Lei Organica 1/2026 (Diario da Republica, in force 19 May 2026): naturalisation after 10 years of legal residence for most nationalities, or 7 years for CPLP nationals (was 5 for all). GV/ARI holders follow the same rule. Also requires sufficient knowledge of the Portuguese language and culture, knowledge of citizens' rights and duties, a declaration of adherence to democratic principles, a clean criminal and security record and the means of subsistence. Only naturalisation applications already pending on 19 May 2026 continue under the previous rules; residence counts while a valid residence title is held.","highlights":["Citizenship after 10 years of legal residence (7 for CPLP nationals)","Real-estate route closed in 2023"],"atomic_answer":"The Portugal Golden Visa grants a Portuguese residence permit to non-EU investors through a fund, cultural, research or business investment, with Schengen travel and a 7-day first-year stay. Citizenship is a separate step: 10 years of legal residence for most nationalities, 7 for CPLP nationals.","fees":{"due_diligence":null,"processing":null,"interview":null,"certificate":null,"application_main":null,"application_dependent":null,"notes":"Per person (main applicant and each family member; family reunification requests carry the same analysis and grant fees). Digital-channel rates are 25% lower. Source: AIMA fee table (Portaria 307/2023, last updated 26.02.2026).","other":{"application_fee_initial_eur":842.8,"application_fee_digital_eur":632.1,"grant_fee_eur":8418.9,"grant_fee_digital_eur":6314.2,"renewal_fee_eur":4210.3,"renewal_fee_digital_eur":3157.8,"payment_method":"Documento Único de Cobrança (DUC) via ARI portal","notes":"Per person (main applicant and each family member; family reunification requests carry the same analysis and grant fees). Digital-channel rates are 25% lower. Source: AIMA fee table (Portaria 307/2023, last updated 26.02.2026)."}},"last_updated":"2026-09-28","data_freshness":{"verification_confidence":70,"last_verified":"2026-09-28","last_corroborated":"2026-09-21","fields_tracked":7,"stale_fields":0,"fields_with_homepage_only_source":7},"mirabello_index":{"composite":72.5,"rank_overall":41,"rank_in_type":32,"scores":{"cost":67,"speed":57,"mobility":100,"path":44,"tax":55,"family":100,"stability":79},"confidence":1},"regulatory_status":{"fatf_list":null,"eu_tax_list":null,"us_sanctions":null,"oecd_crs_high_risk_scheme":false,"as_of":"2026-06","status":"not listed on FATF, EU tax, US OFAC, or OECD CRS-risk lists"},"processing_stages":["1. Select qualifying investment route and engage legal representation (1–4 weeks)","2. Make qualifying investment (fund subscription, donation, or business incorporation) (2–8 weeks)","3. Gather documentation (criminal records, proof of investment, insurance, etc.) (2–4 weeks)","4. Submit online application via ARI portal with all supporting documents","5. AIMA reviews application and conducts background checks (3–12+ months — backlog dependent)","6. Biometrics appointment at AIMA office in Portugal (scheduled by AIMA)","7. Residence card issuance (4–8 weeks after biometrics)","8. First renewal at 2 years — demonstrate investment maintained + minimum stay met","9. Second renewal at 4 years","10. Naturalisation application possible after 10 years of legal residence (7 for CPLP nationals) under Lei Organica 1/2026 (separate process)"],"required_documents":null,"biometric_enrolment":null,"dependant_additions":null,"nationality_naturalisation":null,"region":"EU","family":{"id":"portugal-gv","country_code":"PT","family_model":"both","relatives":{"spouse":{"eligible":true,"unmarried_partner":null,"same_sex":null,"min_age_inclusive":null,"conditions":"AIMA ARI page lists 'Conjuge' only. Registered/de facto partner status not stated on the page (KB says 'registered partner'; unverified)."},"children":{"eligible":true,"max_age_inclusive":17,"age_rule_text":"Children up to 17 years of age, or incapable persons dependent on the couple or one spouse; adopted children up to 17 (AIMA page wording 'ate aos 17 anos').","age_measured_at":null,"adult_child_max_age_inclusive":25,"adult_child_conditions":"Aged over 18 and up to 25, unmarried, dependent on the couple or one spouse, and studying (page lists a version 'studying at an establishment in Portugal' and a version 'studying'). Incapable children dependent on the couple: no age cap stated.","step_adopted":"Adopted children under 17 if the adoption decision of the country of origin is recognised by Portugal and gives rights identical to natural filiation.","disabled_child_any_age":true,"age_bands_for_fees":["all family members pay the same per-person fee; no age band in the AIMA table"]},"parents":{"eligible":true,"min_age_inclusive":null,"dependency_required":true,"extra_cost":"None beyond the per-person fee","conditions":"Direct-line first-degree ascendants of the investor or the spouse, dependent ('a seu cargo')."},"grandparents":{"eligible":false,"conditions":"Only first-degree ascendants are listed."},"siblings":{"eligible":true,"max_age_inclusive":17,"conditions":"Siblings up to 17 under the investor's guardianship by decision of the competent authority of the country of origin, recognised by Portugal."},"other":{}},"timing":{"together_with_main_applicant":true,"add_later":true,"add_later_conditions":"AIMA: the family-reunification request may be filed at the same time as the investor's ARI application but is always conditional on the ARI being granted. AIMA also lists separate document sets for art. 98(1) (family outside Portugal) and art. 98(2) (family already in Portugal), so later filing is possible.","add_later_deadline":null,"after_approval_births_marriages":null,"age_out_during_processing":null},"costs":{"currency":"EUR","contribution_includes_family":"Investment (EUR 250,000-500,000 by route) covers all eligible family members; government fees are per person.","per_category":{"spouse":9261.7,"child_under_18":9261.7,"child_18_plus":9261.7,"parent":9261.7},"government_fees":[{"item":"Reception and analysis of ARI / family-reunification request","amount":842.8,"currency":"EUR","applies_to":"each person; digital-channel rate 632.10"},{"item":"Grant of residence permit to reunited family member (art. 98)","amount":8418.9,"currency":"EUR","applies_to":"each family member; digital rate 6,314.20"},{"item":"Renewal of residence permit for reunited family member","amount":4210.3,"currency":"EUR","applies_to":"each family member; digital rate 3,157.80"}],"due_diligence_per_adult":null,"notes":"Per_category total = 842.80 + 8,418.90 at in-person rates (digital 6,946.30). AIMA table (Portaria 307/2023, updated 26.02.2026) shows no exemption for minors; whether any exists is not confirmed."},"dependants_status":{"residence_obligation":"Investor minimum 7 days in year one and 14 days in later years (AIMA); applicability to family not stated.","work_rights":null,"independent_after":null,"citizenship_path":null,"if_principal_divorces_or_dies":null},"verification":"single-authority verified","confidence":{"authority":0.9,"freshness":0.85,"textual_clarity":0.75},"evidence":[{"field":"relatives.*; timing","basis":"AIMA ARI page, 'Reagrupamento Familiar' section","source_url":"https://aima.gov.pt/pt/viver/autorizacao-de-residencia-para-investimento-art-90-o-a","source_tier":"B_official_guidance","verified_date":"2026-10-09"},{"field":"costs.government_fees","basis":"Portaria 307/2023 fee table, Part III item 3 (a)-(e), updated 26.02.2026","source_url":"https://aima.gov.pt/media/pages/documents/dc677d0005-1772305205/tabela-de-taxas-e-demais-encargos-a-cobrar-pelos-procedimentos-administrativos.pdf","source_tier":"A_official","verified_date":"2026-10-09"}],"conflicts":[{"field":"relatives.children.max_age_inclusive / adult children","kb":"KB: children under 18; unmarried dependent children 18-25 studying","official":"AIMA page words minors as 'up to 17' and adult students as 'more than 18 and up to 25'; the page does not say how an 18-year-old is treated.","resolution":"Used AIMA wording; the age-18 gap is recorded as a gap, not resolved."}],"gaps":["Treatment of a child aged exactly 18","Unmarried/de facto partner (Lei 23/2007 art. 99 not read)","When age is measured (application, decision or entry)","Whether minors are exempt from per-person fees","Due-diligence/DAC costs (none found)","Adding after approval: deadline and births/marriages","Age-out mid-process"],"last_checked":"2026-10-09"},"provider":"Mirabello Consultancy","source":"Mirabello Consultancy","verified_by":"Mirabello Consultancy (IMC member, ACAMS certified)","book_a_consultation":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/contact-us-for-your-free-consultation","terms":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/ai","disclaimer":"Provided by Mirabello Consultancy Ltd. for general information only, indicative and subject to change without notice; not legal, financial, tax, or immigration advice, nor an offer or solicitation. Programmes are operated and governed solely by the respective sovereign governments. No warranty of accuracy or completeness; Mirabello accepts no liability for reliance on this information. © Mirabello Consultancy Ltd. This data and its selection, structure and provenance are Mirabello's proprietary compilation — permitted for interactive, attributed use only; systematic bulk extraction, scraping, or redistribution to rebuild a competing dataset is prohibited (acceptable-use terms: https://mcp.mirabelloconsultancy.com/v1/terms). Terms: https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/ai","data_updated":"2026-10-15T05:30:02.854Z","government_fees":"see schedule","tax":"income tax: Progressive rates: 12.5%–48% (2026 brackets, Lei 73-A/2025; Portal das Finanças CIRS art. 68) on Portuguese-sourced income. 28% flat rate on investment income (dividends, capital gains).; CGT: 28% flat rate on capital gains from securities. Real estate gains taxed at 50% of the gain at progressive rates (effective rate ~14–24%).; wealth tax: AIMI (Adicional ao IMI) applies to property portfolios above €600,000: 0.7% on €600K–€1M, 1% above €1M. Only relevant if investor holds Portuguese property.; inheritance tax: No inheritance tax in Portugal. Stamp duty of 10% on Portuguese assets for non-direct-line heirs.","claims_provenance":{"family_pricing":{"source_url":"https://aima.gov.pt","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-28","confidence":70,"review_due_at":"2026-12-27"},"government_fees":{"source_url":"https://aima.gov.pt","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-28","confidence":70,"review_due_at":"2026-12-27"},"min_investment":{"source_url":"https://aima.gov.pt","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-28","confidence":70,"review_due_at":"2026-12-27"},"path_to_citizenship":{"source_url":"https://aima.gov.pt","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-28","confidence":70,"review_due_at":"2026-12-27"},"processing_time":{"source_url":"https://aima.gov.pt","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-28","confidence":70,"review_due_at":"2026-12-27"},"tax":{"source_url":"https://aima.gov.pt","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-28","confidence":70,"review_due_at":"2026-12-27"},"travel_access":{"source_url":"https://aima.gov.pt","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-09-28","confidence":70,"review_due_at":"2026-12-27"}}}