{"id":"sao-tome-cbi","name":"São Tomé and Príncipe","type":"CBI","status":"emerging","country":"São Tomé & Príncipe","country_code":"ST","url":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/immigration/sao-tome-principe-citizenship-by-investment","min_investment":{"amount":90000,"currency":"USD","route":"Government Contribution"},"qualification_basis":"investment","investment_routes":[{"name":"National Transformation Fund Donation","type":"donation","min":90000,"currency":"USD","amount_usd":90000}],"family_pricing":{"single_applicant":90000,"family_up_to_4":95000,"per_additional_dependent":5000,"notes":"USD 90,000 for a single applicant. USD 95,000 for a family of up to 4 members. Each additional dependent beyond 4 costs USD 5,000. These amounts are the donation only — submission fee and government fees are additional.","source_url":"https://cip.gov.st/investment-structure","verified_date":"2026-10-03"},"processing_time":"1.5–2 months average time to decision; post-approval to passport about 4 months; 5–6 months in total","visa_free_count":58,"passport_index_rank":null,"key_destinations":null,"travel_access":null,"minimum_stay":null,"tax_note":null,"path_to_citizenship":"immediate (citizenship programme)","highlights":["Lowest-cost emerging route"],"atomic_answer":"São Tomé and Príncipe offers one of the lowest-cost emerging citizenship-by-investment routes, from approximately USD 90,000. As an early-stage programme, benefits and processing are still maturing.","fees":{"due_diligence":null,"processing":null,"interview":null,"certificate":null,"application_main":null,"application_dependent":null,"notes":"Official (cip.gov.st, verified 2026-10-03): submission fee USD 5,000 per application (non-refundable); due diligence USD 5,000 (main applicant); citizenship documents (certificate of registration, passport, national ID) USD 750 per applicant. Indicative total for a single applicant: ~USD 100,750 (USD 90,000 donation + USD 5,000 submission + USD 5,000 due diligence + USD 750 documents). Family of 4: ~USD 108,000 (USD 95,000 + USD 5,000 + USD 5,000 + 4 × USD 750), plus any due diligence charged on dependants. (unverified)","other":{"submission_fee":5000,"submission_fee_notes":"Non-refundable application/submission fee of USD 5,000 per application (official: https://cip.gov.st/donation-to-the-national-transformation-fund, verified 2026-10-03)","passport_issuance_fee":350,"national_id_fee":150,"certificate_of_registration_fee":250,"per_person_government_fees":750,"per_person_government_fees_notes":"Citizenship documents (certificate of registration, passport, national ID): USD 750 per applicant (official: https://cip.gov.st/faq, verified 2026-10-03)","due_diligence_main":5000,"due_diligence_spouse":null,"due_diligence_dependent":null,"processing_fee":0,"notes":"Official (cip.gov.st, verified 2026-10-03): submission fee USD 5,000 per application (non-refundable); due diligence USD 5,000 (main applicant); citizenship documents (certificate of registration, passport, national ID) USD 750 per applicant. Indicative total for a single applicant: ~USD 100,750 (USD 90,000 donation + USD 5,000 submission + USD 5,000 due diligence + USD 750 documents). Family of 4: ~USD 108,000 (USD 95,000 + USD 5,000 + USD 5,000 + 4 × USD 750), plus any due diligence charged on dependants. (unverified)"}},"last_updated":"2026-03-20","data_freshness":{"verification_confidence":63,"last_verified":"2026-10-12","last_corroborated":"2026-10-15","fields_tracked":7,"stale_fields":5,"fields_with_homepage_only_source":5},"mirabello_index":{"composite":71,"rank_overall":49,"rank_in_type":10,"scores":{"cost":79,"speed":100,"mobility":36,"path":100,"family":92,"stability":36},"confidence":0.86},"regulatory_status":{"fatf_list":null,"eu_tax_list":null,"us_sanctions":null,"oecd_crs_high_risk_scheme":false,"as_of":"2026-06","status":"not listed on FATF, EU tax, US OFAC, or OECD CRS-risk lists"},"processing_stages":["Engagement with licensed marketing agent (Advance Citizenship / a global investment-migration firm / other licensed agents)","Document collection and application preparation","Submission of application with non-refundable USD 5,000 fee","Due diligence and background checks by CIU","Government review and approval","Payment of National Transformation Fund contribution upon approval","Payment of per-person government fees (passport, ID, registration)","Citizenship certificate, national ID, and passport issuance"],"required_documents":null,"biometric_enrolment":null,"dependant_additions":null,"nationality_naturalisation":null,"region":"Africa","family":{"id":"sao-tome-cbi","country_code":"ST","family_model":"both","relatives":{"spouse":{"eligible":true,"unmarried_partner":true,"same_sex":null,"min_age_inclusive":null,"conditions":"Spouse and 'de facto partners' eligible per official FAQ; definition of de facto partner not stated."},"children":{"eligible":true,"max_age_inclusive":null,"age_rule_text":"Official FAQ: 'children up to 30 years old'. Whether 30 itself qualifies ('up to' vs 'under') is not stated; KB elsewhere says 'under 30' and 'unmarried, financially dependent'.","age_measured_at":null,"adult_child_max_age_inclusive":null,"adult_child_conditions":"KB: unmarried and financially dependent; official FAQ does not state the conditions (KB-only).","step_adopted":null,"disabled_child_any_age":null,"age_bands_for_fees":["newborn up to 1 year (post-approval only)","other dependants"]},"parents":{"eligible":true,"min_age_inclusive":55,"age_rule_text":"'Parents and grandparents from 55 years old' (official FAQ). KB says 'over 55' and 'fully supported by applicant' - official FAQ states no support test.","dependency_required":null,"extra_cost":"Same dependant tier (USD 5,000 post-approval; within family price at application)"},"grandparents":{"eligible":true,"min_age_inclusive":55,"dependency_required":null,"extra_cost":"As parents"},"siblings":{"eligible":false,"conditions":"Siblings 'not mentioned' in the official FAQ - not listed as eligible"},"other":{"eligible":null}},"timing":{"together_with_main_applicant":true,"add_later":true,"add_later_conditions":"Eligible dependants may be added after approval-in-principle through the government 'Additional Inclusion' process, subject to fees and due diligence.","add_later_deadline":null,"after_approval_births_marriages":"Newborn child (up to 1 year old) can be added for USD 500 with no submission fee; spouse added later USD 10,000.","age_out_during_processing":null},"costs":{"currency":"USD","contribution_includes_family":"USD 90,000 single; USD 95,000 for up to 4 members; USD 5,000 per additional dependant beyond 4 (per KB / cip.gov.st investment-structure)","per_category":{"spouse":null,"child_under_18":null,"child_18_plus":null,"parent":null,"post_approval_spouse":10000,"post_approval_dependant":5000,"post_approval_newborn":500},"government_fees":[{"item":"Submission fee (non-refundable)","amount":5000,"currency":"USD","applies_to":"per application; also charged again on post-approval inclusions except newborns"},{"item":"Citizenship documents (certificate of registration, passport, national ID)","amount":750,"currency":"USD","applies_to":"per applicant (KB, from cip.gov.st/faq; not re-fetched this run)"},{"item":"Post-approval inclusion: spouse","amount":10000,"currency":"USD","applies_to":"spouse added after approval-in-principle"},{"item":"Post-approval inclusion: each other dependant","amount":5000,"currency":"USD","applies_to":"added after approval-in-principle"},{"item":"Post-approval inclusion: newborn up to 1 year","amount":500,"currency":"USD","applies_to":"added after approval-in-principle, no submission fee"}],"due_diligence_per_adult":null,"notes":"Due diligence USD 5,000 is described on the official FAQ for the benefactor/main applicant; dependant due diligence fee not stated. Post-approval fees do not apply to dependants included in the original submission. Unclear whether the USD 5,000 submission fee stacks with each added dependant."},"dependants_status":{"residence_obligation":"KB: none","work_rights":null,"independent_after":null,"citizenship_path":"derivative","if_principal_divorces_or_dies":null},"verification":"single-authority verified","confidence":{"authority":0.7,"freshness":0.9,"textual_clarity":0.6},"evidence":[{"field":"relatives.*","basis":"Official FAQ: spouse, de facto partners, children up to 30, parents/grandparents from 55","source_url":"https://cip.gov.st/faq","source_tier":"B_official_guidance","verified_date":"2026-10-09"},{"field":"costs.post_approval","basis":"Official Post-Approval Inclusion Fees page","source_url":"https://cip.gov.st/post-approval-inclusion-fees","source_tier":"B_official_guidance","verified_date":"2026-10-09"},{"field":"costs.contribution_includes_family","basis":"KB citing cip.gov.st investment structure (not re-fetched)","source_url":"https://cip.gov.st/investment-structure","source_tier":"B_official_guidance","verified_date":"2026-10-09"}],"conflicts":[{"field":"relatives.parents","kb":"Parents over 55, fully supported by applicant; grandparents unconfirmed","official":"Parents and grandparents from 55; no support test stated","resolution":"Official used: min_age_inclusive 55, grandparents eligible; KB support test kept only as unconfirmed note."}],"gaps":["Whether child limit 30 is inclusive and when age is measured","Unmarried/dependency conditions for adult children (official silent)","Parent dependency test","Dependant due diligence fee","Whether submission fee stacks on each post-approval addition","Post-approval deadline (none stated)","Age-out treatment","Work/residence rights; divorce/death effects"],"last_checked":"2026-10-09"},"provider":"Mirabello Consultancy","source":"Mirabello Consultancy","verified_by":"Mirabello Consultancy (IMC member, ACAMS certified)","book_a_consultation":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/contact-us-for-your-free-consultation","terms":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/ai","disclaimer":"Provided by Mirabello Consultancy Ltd. for general information only, indicative and subject to change without notice; not legal, financial, tax, or immigration advice, nor an offer or solicitation. Programmes are operated and governed solely by the respective sovereign governments. No warranty of accuracy or completeness; Mirabello accepts no liability for reliance on this information. © Mirabello Consultancy Ltd. This data and its selection, structure and provenance are Mirabello's proprietary compilation — permitted for interactive, attributed use only; systematic bulk extraction, scraping, or redistribution to rebuild a competing dataset is prohibited (acceptable-use terms: https://mcp.mirabelloconsultancy.com/v1/terms). Terms: https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/ai","data_updated":"2026-10-17T21:38:20.394Z","government_fees":"see schedule","visa_free_set":"100","claims_provenance":{"family_pricing":{"source_url":"https://cip.gov.st","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-03-20","confidence":62,"review_due_at":"2026-06-17"},"government_fees":{"source_url":"https://cip.gov.st","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-03-20","confidence":55,"review_due_at":"2026-06-17"},"min_investment":{"source_url":"https://cip.gov.st","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-03-20","confidence":55,"review_due_at":"2026-06-17"},"path_to_citizenship":{"source_url":"https://cip.gov.st","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-03-20","confidence":65,"review_due_at":"2026-06-17"},"processing_time":{"source_url":"https://cip.gov.st","source_tier":"official","verified_at":"2026-03-20","confidence":55,"review_due_at":"2026-06-17"},"visa_free_count":{"source_url":"https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Visa_requirements_for_Santomean_citizens","source_tier":"secondary","verified_at":"2026-10-12","confidence":74,"review_due_at":"2027-01-10"},"visa_free_set":{"source_url":"https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Visa_requirements_for_Santomean_citizens","source_tier":"secondary","verified_at":"2026-09-20","confidence":74,"review_due_at":"2026-12-19"}}}