{"id":"south-africa-retired-person","name":"South Africa Retired Person Visa","type":"RBI","status":"operational","country":"South Africa","country_code":"ZA","url":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/immigration/south-africa-retired-person-visa","min_investment":{"amount":null,"currency":"ZAR","route":"Pension, irrevocable annuity, retirement account or assets realising at least the prescribed monthly amount (official sources differ on the current figure) (Immigration Act 13 of 2002 ss20 and 27(e); Government Notice 451 of 3 June 2014). Proof of income, not an investment"},"qualification_basis":"financial_means","investment_routes":null,"family_pricing":null,"processing_time":null,"processing_time_note":"Washington DC mission: 4 weeks for long-term visas exceeding 90 days; the Canberra high commission page states the processing time is not currently available. No processing time, fee or in-country renewal rule was found on an official page for a section 27(e) permanent residence application. Mission non-refundable application fees read: US$55 (Washington DC) and AUD 37 (Canberra); DHA and VFS fees were not read. The medical report requirement is waived for visa and permanent residence applications from 8 July 2026 (Ministerial Immigration Directive No. 10 of 2026). Only the Washington DC sheet also asks for medical cover with a scheme registered under the Medical Schemes Act.","visa_free_count":100,"passport_index_rank":null,"key_destinations":null,"travel_access":null,"minimum_stay":"No minimum stay: the visa may allow seasonal or continuous sojourn (Immigration Act s20(3)(a)). A permanent residence permit may be withdrawn after more than three years' absence unless extended on prior application (s28(c)).","tax_note":"note: South Africa taxes residents on worldwide income (residence-based system); confirm current rates and any incentives. (unverified)","path_to_citizenship":"Not stated for this route. Naturalisation criteria and dual-nationality rules were not read from an official page (the gov.za citizenship page did not state the criteria). (unverified)","highlights":["Visa of up to 4 years at a time, renewable, or direct permanent residence under section 27(e), on a prescribed minimum monthly income","No minimum stay stated; residents are taxed on worldwide income, with a conditional exemption for foreign pensions"],"atomic_answer":"South Africa's retired person visa is granted to a foreigner who intends to retire there and proves a pension, irrevocable annuity or retirement account paying at least the prescribed monthly amount for life (official sources differ on the current figure), or assets realising the same amount (Immigration Act 13 of 2002 s20; Government Notice 451 of 3 June 2014). It is issued for up to four years at a time and renewable, and permanent residence on retirement grounds is available on the same test under section 27(e). Residents are taxed on worldwide income; a foreign pension for past employment abroad is exempt under section 10(1)(gC) of the Income Tax Act, while dividends, interest, rent and gains are taxed.","fees":null,"last_updated":"2026-10-11","data_freshness":null,"mirabello_index":{"composite":64.5,"rank_overall":null,"rank_in_type":null,"scores":{"mobility":63,"tax":70,"stability":65},"confidence":0.43},"regulatory_status":{"fatf_list":null,"eu_tax_list":null,"us_sanctions":null,"oecd_crs_high_risk_scheme":false,"as_of":"2026-06","status":"not listed on FATF, EU tax, US OFAC, or OECD CRS-risk lists"},"processing_stages":null,"required_documents":null,"biometric_enrolment":null,"dependant_additions":null,"nationality_naturalisation":null,"retirement":{"route_name":"South Africa Retired Person Visa and retirement permanent residence","region":"Africa","tags":["retirement","passive-income"],"income_requirement":{"amount":null,"currency":"ZAR","period":"month","basis":"either","per_dependant":null,"note":"Figure withheld: Official sources state different monthly amounts and no amending Gazette notice was found; withheld until confirmed."},"net_worth_or_deposit_option":{"amount":null,"currency":"ZAR","kind":"net_worth","required":false,"note":"Amount withheld: Official sources state different monthly amounts and no amending Gazette notice was found; withheld until confirmed.","kind_original":"net_worth_income_test"},"stay_requirement":{"days_per_year":null,"max_continuous_absence_days":1095,"stated_by_official_source":true,"rule":"No minimum stay: the visa may allow seasonal or continuous sojourn (Immigration Act s20(3)(a)). A permanent residence permit may be withdrawn after more than three years' absence unless extended on prior application (s28(c)).","note":"The three-year limit applies to the permanent residence variant, not to the visa."},"foreign_income_tax":{"treatment":"partial","label":"Partial: some foreign income is taxed and some is not; read the note.","note":"Partial. A resident is taxed on worldwide income: ordinarily resident, or, if not, present more than 91 days in the year of assessment, more than 91 days in each of the 5 preceding years and more than 915 days in those 5 years (SARS Taxation in South Africa 2026). A foreign pension is exempt where it is paid under another country's social security system (Income Tax Act s10(1)(gC)(i)) or is a lump sum, pension or annuity from a source outside South Africa for past employment outside South Africa (s10(1)(gC)(ii)); otherwise progressive rates apply, top rate 45% (threshold R1,878,600 in the Budget tax guide 2026). The exemption does not reach payments from South African retirement funds and is apportioned by service abroad. Foreign dividends are taxed at a maximum effective 20% (holding under 10%); foreign interest and rent at progressive rates up to 45% (the interest exemption of R23,800, or R34,500 aged 65 or over, covers South African-source interest only); capital gains at a maximum effective 18%. There is no remittance basis, and ceasing residence triggers a deemed disposal. Treasury proposed in August 2025 to delete s10(1)(gC)(ii) and on 4 November 2025 withdrew the proposal pending a renewed consultation; the SARS 2026 guide still lists the exemption. (unverified)","source":"https://www.sars.gov.za/wp-content/uploads/Ops/Guides/Legal-Pub-Guide-Gen01-Taxation-in-South-Africa.pdf","tax_residence_caveat":"Tax follows tax residence, not the permit: the treatment applies once you are tax-resident there. Information, not tax advice."},"path_to_pr":"Visa for up to 4 years at a time, renewable (Immigration Act s20(3)(b)); permanent residence directly under s27(e) on the same monthly income test.","path_to_citizenship":"Not stated for this route. Naturalisation criteria and dual-nationality rules were not read from an official page (the gov.za citizenship page did not state the criteria). (unverified)","processing_note":"Washington DC mission: 4 weeks for long-term visas exceeding 90 days; the Canberra high commission page states the processing time is not currently available. No processing time, fee or in-country renewal rule was found on an official page for a section 27(e) permanent residence application. Mission non-refundable application fees read: US$55 (Washington DC) and AUD 37 (Canberra); DHA and VFS fees were not read. The medical report requirement is waived for visa and permanent residence applications from 8 July 2026 (Ministerial Immigration Directive No. 10 of 2026). Only the Washington DC sheet also asks for medical cover with a scheme registered under the Medical Schemes Act.","official_source":"https://www.gov.za/sites/default/files/gcis_document/201409/37716gon451.pdf","legal_basis":"Immigration Act 13 of 2002 (DHA consolidated text, current from 26 May 2014): s20(1), (1A), (2), (3) (retired person visa), s27(e) (permanent residence for a person who intends to retire), s28 (withdrawal of permanent residence). Immigration Regulations 2014 (GN R413, DHA copy updated to 2018): reg 19 (retired person visa) and reg 24(11) (permanent residence under s27(e)). Government Notice 451 of 3 June 2014 (Gazette 37716): minimum amounts under ss20(1)(a), (b) and 27(e). Ministerial Immigration Directive No. 10 of 2026 (Gazette 55016): blanket waiver of the medical report from 8 July 2026. The Act text read is the 2014 consolidation; later amendments to ss20 and 27 were not checked.","as_of":"2026-10-11","figures_withheld":"Official sources state different monthly amounts and no amending Gazette notice was found; withheld until confirmed."},"golden_retirement":{"standard":"Mirabello Golden Retirement Index","applies_to":"South Africa Retired Person Visa and retirement permanent residence","tier":"partial","tier_label":"Partial: meets most of the standard, with one gap","score":67.4,"confidence_grade":"B","renewal_category":"none: permanent residence at first expiry","renewals_before_pr":0,"pillars":{"tax":6.4,"presence":20,"financial":14,"durability":5,"processing":8,"healthcare":3,"family_work_mobility":3,"pr_citizenship":8},"reasons":[],"as_of":"2026-10-11","methodology_version":"1.1.0-2026-10-11"},"record_kind":"retirement_route","region":null,"provider":"Mirabello Consultancy","source":"Mirabello Consultancy","verified_by":"Mirabello Consultancy (IMC member, ACAMS certified)","book_a_consultation":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/contact-us-for-your-free-consultation","terms":"https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/ai","disclaimer":"Provided by Mirabello Consultancy Ltd. for general information only, indicative and subject to change without notice; not legal, financial, tax, or immigration advice, nor an offer or solicitation. Programmes are operated and governed solely by the respective sovereign governments. No warranty of accuracy or completeness; Mirabello accepts no liability for reliance on this information. © Mirabello Consultancy Ltd. This data and its selection, structure and provenance are Mirabello's proprietary compilation — permitted for interactive, attributed use only; systematic bulk extraction, scraping, or redistribution to rebuild a competing dataset is prohibited (acceptable-use terms: https://mcp.mirabelloconsultancy.com/v1/terms). Terms: https://www.mirabelloconsultancy.com/ai","data_updated":"2026-10-12T19:35:18.892Z"}